MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2017 01/13/2018

The 2018 annual meeting of the Beacon Society started with a welcome from Head Light Denny Dobry. He introduced the Board and Committee Chairs. Denny noted that Marino Alvarez would be stepping down as Awards Committee Chair and that Arthur Renkwitz would be stepping in as Chair starting in 2018.

Business began with the 2017 minutes which were approved without reading.

Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer's Report was presented by Bursar Richards Kitts. The Treasury balance stands at \$23955.72 as of 01/13/2018. Income from donations and pin sales totaled \$8473.73. Donors are listed in the Financial Report and were thanked for their support.

Expenses in 2017 were \$7311.19 from Jan Stauber Grants, which included one 2016 grant awarded in 2017 in the amount of \$434.11. The Junior Sherlockian Society spent \$701.88 of their \$750.00 budget. Thanks were expressed to 221B Con and Bill Mason for their continued support.

Beacon Award

The Beacon Award was presented by Marino Alvarez. Marino started by thanking the Awards committee for their tireless work.

Twelve nominees were given careful consideration. Ultimately, Rob Nunn, a 5th grade teacher, was chosen as the winner for his development of a two week cross curriculum unit, which incorporates Sherlock Holmes and the Canon into the classroom.

Honorable mention certificates were awarded to Hanna Al-Kowsi and Derrick Belanger. Hanna was present to receive this certificate and Marino detailed her in depth application for the Beacon Award. Her intense scholarship and love of Sherlock Holmes was lauded by the Society.

Marino encouraged the new Chair to contact anyone who applied but was not selected and encourage them to apply again.

Marino is retiring from the Awards committee after 6 years. He was presented with a plaque with the thanks of the Society for his dedication and time.

Communications Report

Steve Mason detailed several major mailings throughout the year. The mailings have been extended to Children's Museums and Theaters. Rusty Mason graciously overhauled the website after it was hacked. The new website's traffic is up to over 1000 hits a week from a previous high of 100 hits a week! Thanks were expressed to Rusty for his tireless efforts to bring the website back up to snuff after the Adventure of the Japanese Hackers.

The Beacon Society also had a very successful table at 221B Con. The Learning Magazine ran an article about our resources and grants that went out to their 150,000 subscribers.

Denny recognized 221B Con as the Society's largest donor for the last several years and acknowledged co-directors Crystal Noll and Heather Holloway who have joined the Fundraising Committee and the Grants Committee, respectively.

Fundraising Committee

Crystal Noll, the incoming Chair of the Committee, presented the report. The first committee meeting was held 12/17. Letters requesting donations were written for the swag bags for The Woman, The BSI Dinner, The Gaslight Gala, and The Babes's Ball. Dave McCallister donated printing, and thanks were expressed for his help.

The committee also identified untapped revenue sources including other grants, business sponsorships, a Cafepress shop, and authors who might want to donate royalties to the Society. The Grants Committee has indicated a desire to give \$10,000 in grants, so the fundraising goal for 2018 is \$10,000.

Grants Committee

Susan Diamond, the Chair of the Committee for the last 6 years, was unable to attend so Chris Kegley gave the report in her stead.

The Society received 24 grant applications in 2017 all of which were approved. Special thanks were expressed to Steve Mason for the expanded promotion of the grants program. Final reports will be posted on the Beacon Society website along with all forms and pertinent information needed to apply for a grant.

The grant maximum for 2018 is \$500 as it was in 2017. Everyone is encouraged to contact schools, libraries, and other venues to publicize the grants program.

Program Committee

Rob Nunn was unable to attend the meeting so Beth Gallego presented his report. Beth began by thanking the committee for their work during the year. Since November the committee has taken a look at current education programs offered by the Society and had originally anticipated their work to be finding more resources to offer on the website for educators. Once they began, however, it became apparent that the Society has the best resources available already.

The committee suggested a slight restructuring of the website to make it more user friendly for educators. They recommended a library resources page so that librarians can find information useful for them.

Junior Sherlockian Society Committee

Shannon Carlisle started by thanking the Society. The Junior Sherlockian Society was formed in August 2016. It was the brainchild of Andrew Solberg and was developed by Shannon Carlisle in the mold of the National Parks Service Junior Ranger Program.

Shannon gave an overview of how the Junior Sherlockians work within her own classroom and encouraged everyone to promote the program. She advised that there is a Facebook page, a website,

flyers, and Junior Sherlockian branded wooden nickels that can be handed out to children to pique their interest in the organization.

Shannon ended by thanking the committee members who have worked so hard on the program.

Old Business

The Fortescue Scholarship has been added to the Beacon Society website.

The committee structure has changed as of 2018. In previous years, there was no limit to the size of a committee. Going forward, committees will be limited to 5 members, including the Chair and 4 others.

Steve Mason suggested that members could purchase used copies of the Sherlock Holmes books and give them to children in public (with their parent's permission, of course.) He has given out over 300 books in the past years and has started including a Junior Sherlockian bookmark in them.

The yahoo group is being discontinued and communications will now be done through direct email.

Bill Mason was called forward, thanked for his years of service as Head Light, and presented with a plaque to recognize his service.

Congratulations were extended to Denny Dobry and Shannon Carlisle for their inductions into the Baker Street Irregulars.

The meeting was adjourned by unanimous consent.

Submitted Respectfully, Heather Holloway Percy Phelps